top of page
  • Writer's pictureAkshita Pattnaik

Stress for Me

As a busy high school student, I get stressed a lot! I have stress from schoolwork, sports, auditions, competitions, my job, and social life. It is easy for me to get stressed, and I have noticed myself overcommit at times. In some instances, I realize I am obviously stressed and I can use strategies to ease my stress. For me, listening to music has always been one of the best stress management strategies. I even have several playlists dedicated to stress! Depending on the situation, I listen to different kinds of music. Sometimes, I'll lay down with my eyes closed and listen to sad songs. Other times, I'll blast some upbeat tunes and dance around belting the song. Yoga or stretching is another strategy I love to use. With yoga, I physically feel that I am relieving the tension or stress from my body. Taking the time to practice yoga also gives me a chance to slow down and think through what is making me stress.

At times, other people, like my parents or teachers, notice it before I do. I have always found it relieving to talk about my stress! I have never participated in therapy of any kind, but I have heard from many others that it has been helpful for their stress. I generally talk to my parents, teachers, or friends about my stress. Another helpful thing about talking to others about your stress is that they may be facing similar stress! For example, I can think of a time I was stressed about an upcoming Calculus test, and I talked to a few friends in the class about it which made me realize they were also stressed. Sharing the stress allowed some of it to be lifted from myself.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Resources for Stress

Here are some links to great pages that have more about managing and reducing stress! American Institute of Stress Stress News from...

Effects of Stress

https://www.stress.org/stress-effects This page by the American Institute of Stress includes 50 common signs and symptoms of stress and...

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page