top of page
  • Writer's pictureAkshita Pattnaik

Chole Paneer

Updated: Aug 5, 2020

Chole is such a classic Indian dish! It pairs well with anything from rice to puri to bhatura. I have enjoyed it in several settings but my favorite by far is my mom’s chole. Today, I used my mom’s recipe (and a little bit of her help!) to make chole.


  1. Soak chickpeas 8 hours before you cook (I did them overnight).

  2. Blend ginger, 4 cloves of garlic, and 2 green chiles with some water to make a ginger garlic paste.

  3. Chop 1 onion and set aside for later.

  4. Boil chickpeas until soft (not mushy!), I did this in a pressure cooker.

  5. Cut paneer into 1 inch cubes.

  6. In a large pan, heat oil and add ginger garlic paste. Sautee the paste until cooked.

  7. Add chopped onions and fry until golden.

  8. Add tomato puree, salt, turmeric and let simmer.

  9. Add paneer cubes and then mix in chole masala (I used MTR brand). I also added red chili powder for more spice.

  10. Let the paneer cook in the gravy for about 4 minutes, or until gravy thickens.

  11. Add boiled chickpeas, and 1 cup of water. Cover and simmer on low flame for about 15 minutes.

  12. Serve with rice, paratha or puri, and enjoy!

18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page