top of page
  • Writer's pictureAkshita Pattnaik

Smoothie Bowls!

So smoothie bowls have my heart if you couldn’t tell from my Instagram (@akshitasplate). But going out and buying a bunch of them can add up pretty quickly, SO I make mine at home! The question I always get when I post smoothie bowls or açai bowls, is how do you get it so thick? Great question! To be honest, I can’t say I get a nice thick smoothie bowl 100% of the time, but I do get one pretty often.


TIPS

- frozen bananas are your best friend I can't emphasize this enough, I simply cannot make a smoothie bowl if I don't have any bananas in the freezer. Once you see your bananas blackening, slice them up, and freeze them. Bananas help get that thick creamy texture!

- blend dry if you can, blend the fruit and dry ingredients first. I know not everyone has a high-speed blender and this can be tough on the blades BUT if you can, do this. I have a Vitamix blender and I blend the dry things up until it has a dipping dots like texture and then I add liquids!

- yogurt instead of milk for liquids, I usually use yogurt! Yogurt helps create a smooth creamy texture in the smoothie. Other than yogurt, I'd recommend frozen milk cubes or just a few tablespoons of milk - the more milk you use, the less likely it is to be super thick.

- the more frozen, the better if you can use all frozen fruit, that is ideal! I also generally add frozen cauliflower for added texture!

- freeze your bowl this doesn't help with the texture of the smoothie at all, but it helps prevent the smoothie from melting right away


Berry Soft Serve Recipe
- 2 cups mixed berries
- 2 frozen bananas
- 1 tbsp greek yogurt

27 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page