top of page
  • Writer's pictureAkshita Pattnaik

Life Update!

Hey everyone! I haven't written here in a while, partly due to stress, partly because I've been focusing on other things.


What I have been up to:

  • I got my wisdom teeth out! This was my second time having a tooth extraction under general anesthesia (my first was when I was much younger, and I had 10 teeth taken out) but the wisdom teeth are much worse. My pain wasn't as bad as I've heard from others, but I was super swollen for a couple of days and I am still a little bit sore.

  • I just started working on my college applications! The Common Application opened up yesterday and It is crazy to me that I am applying to college - it sounds cliche but I feel like I just started high school.

  • Of course, I've been loving my time on my eatstagram (@akshitasplate). I love getting to see others with the same passion for food as I have, and the community is amazing! I have become friends with some inspiring individuals that I learn from every day.

  • I've been listening to a LOT of podcasts! I listened to a podcast for the first time in late June, but ever since, I haven't stopped! I feel a bit overwhelmed in the world of podcasts because it seems like there are so many good episodes I missed out on or so many to catch up on. I'm trying to listen to as much as I can and create a habit of listening to new episodes regularly. Some of my favorites include NPR's Hidden Brain, Food Heaven, and a whole bunch of NY Times ones.

  • I try to cut out a little time every day for myself, and recently I have been using that time to work on puzzles! There's something about doing puzzles that is so soothing for me, the way the pieces fit together to create a beautiful larger picture just feels so satisfying you know? I generally listen to music during this time, because it helps relax me even more, and it gives me space to think if I need to.

  • Staying active with my family - whether that is finding new trails to hike with my family, going on bike rides with my dad, or playing tennis with my brother. In a time like this where we are stuck at home all the time, it's easy to be sitting around. It is so important to find a way to get up and move around and my family has found that doing that all together is creates accountability. Additionally, all four of us have Apple Watches, so competing on those gets us motivated to be active:)



S T R E S S I know I did a post about personal stress recently, but here's a little update about that:)

What has been causing my (bad) stress:
- COVID19 ~ Haha this one is a little bit obvious, but my state hasn't been doing so it's especially stressful:( Wear your masks!
- FOMO (fear of missing out) ~ a little bit related to COVID, but not being able to see my friends has been tough
- College Apps ~ this one SCREAMS stress! College applications mean college, and college means the future. Scary!
- School ~ Although school hasn't started yet, knowing my senior year is virtual (for the start atleast, but I don't think it's likely we'll be going back anytime soon) makes me feel miserable
What I've been doing to relieve my stress:
- exercise
- listening to music
- making food
- doing puzzles
- bullet journaling

42 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page